I Am World Cup, or why I don’t like sport.

I don’t follow any sport. This may seem a bit strange as my current series of images are all from the football world cup in South Africa.  The series ‘I am World Cup’ all show myself in various poses as a football player, supporter or team trainer. Using images from internet media sites, I am exploring the role of identity in a global sporting framework.  I have never understood the fascination and mentality behind sport, or for that matter political dogmatism. 

My team is me. 
My country is me.
This player is me. 
These colours are me.

This is dangerous ground where the fan become a fanatic and creates an ‘us and them’ situation.  

‘From fanaticism to barbarism is only one step.’ Denis Diderot

You can find my daily  updates on my Facebook site:

DeutschlandHondaHoppschwiizjpgMaradonaNortkoreaOpeningParkSouthafrica

Leave a Reply

