Generosity

I have been thinking about portraiture lately, mainly about technical aspects, as I am contemplating getting a new lens. I have to remind myself however, that the most important aspect in taking photos of people, is the personal interaction between the subject and myself. I feel that taking a photo of another person is in some way, a self portrait and I strive to convey in the image what moved me to take a photo of this person.

This is a portrait of an Indian worker in Malaysia. He endures many hardships working and living away from his family in Chennai. He was one of the most generous people I met during my month long stay in Malaysia. He and his friends gave up their precious free time to show me around their living quarters and also introduced me to some Hindu culture. I am grateful for this and hope that I honour his spirit of generosity with this portrait.SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

