Reframing 2014

Choosing a ‘best of’ list is not a natural thing for me to do as I don’t have favourites in my life.  I don’t do bucket lists or top ten books, movies, music etc.  My preferences change all the time, it’s what keeps me focussed on the present.  As a photographer this is vital. I do, however, like the challenge of selecting my best images for the year because it gives me a chance to select and re-frame photos.  It’’s about finding the strongest visual narrative.  I do this with every series that I create, be it on a daily or monthly basis.  These images have in some way captured the emotion of the moment.

Taking photos is a challenging notion for me.  It means getting closer to people, the environment and myself.  Photography has always been a way for me to discover the world anew every time I lift the camera to my eye.  It is at times confronting, even scary but ultimately liberating.

My goal for 2015 is simple: I want to stay in the uncomfortable zone, take less photos but better images.

One thought on “Reframing 2014

Leave a Reply

